Gear guide
Best Cricut machines, from Joy 2 and Joy Xtra to Maker 5
Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick
Top picks at a glance
Compare all picks
Closest match for the job
Cricut Explore 5: 12 in cutting for vinyl and cards
Lowest price of the full-size Cricuts here while keeping the 12 in (30.5 cm) cutting width.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most for the money on paper
Cricut Joy Xtra: compact cutter with Print Then Cut
Print Then Cut with most inkjet printers, which the original small Joy machines did not cover.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most complete listing
Cricut Maker 5: 3 mm materials and 13 tools
Listing states 3 mm cutting for thicker materials like leather and foam core board, plus engraving on metal and acrylic.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Cricut sells three families of cutters, and the price gap between them is mostly about what they can cut. The Joy machines are small and aimed at cards, decals and labels. The Explore line cuts 12 inch wide sheets of vinyl, iron-on and cardstock and works with six tools. The Maker line adds thicker materials like leather and wood, plus engraving and debossing tools. Buying the wrong one usually means paying for blades you never fit, or outgrowing a small machine in a month. This guide compares the current listings on what each machine is stated to cut, the max width and thickness where the listing gives it, how many tools it works with and how it connects. All models run Cricut Design Space, which is free, with an optional paid Cricut Access subscription for the larger image library. Where a listing does not state a spec, the table says so.
Compare the picks
Cricut Explore 5: 12 in cutting for vinyl and cards- Max cut width
- 12 in (30.5 cm)
- Max material thickness
- Not stated
- Blades/tools
- Works with six tools, Deep Cutting Tool sold separately
- Software
- Design Space (free app)
Cricut Maker 5: 3 mm materials and 13 tools- Max cut width
- 12 in (30.5 cm)
- Max material thickness
- 3 mm (cut and engrave)
- Blades/tools
- Works with 13 tools; bundle has Fine Point, Scoring and Engraving tools
- Software
- Design Space (free app)
Cricut Maker 4: 300+ materials including leather and wood- Max cut width
- Not stated
- Max material thickness
- Not stated
- Blades/tools
- Fine-Point Blade and Fine Point Pen included
- Software
- Design Space (free app)
Cricut Maker 3: 10X cutting force, matless up to 12 ft- Max cut width
- Not stated
- Max material thickness
- Not stated
- Blades/tools
- Compatible with 13+ tools
- Software
- Design Space (iOS, Android, Windows, Mac)
Cricut Joy Xtra: compact cutter with Print Then Cut- Max cut width
- Not stated
- Max material thickness
- Not stated
- Blades/tools
- Cuts, draws and foils; 5-piece tool set in kit
- Software
- Design Space (free app)
Cricut Joy 2: smallest Cricut, now with Print Then Cut- Max cut width
- Not stated
- Max material thickness
- Not stated
- Blades/tools
- Cuts, writes, draws, foils and scores
- Software
- Design Space (free app)
Cricut Explore 3: matless Smart Materials up to 12 ft- Max cut width
- Not stated
- Max material thickness
- Not stated
- Blades/tools
- Premium Fine-Point Blade included
- Software
- Design Space (iOS, Android, Windows, Mac)
| Pick | Max cut width | Max material thickness | Blades/tools | Software | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Cricut Explore 5: 12 in cutting for vinyl and cards | 12 in (30.5 cm) | Not stated | Works with six tools, Deep Cutting Tool sold separately | Design Space (free app) | - | Amazon |
Cricut Maker 5: 3 mm materials and 13 tools | 12 in (30.5 cm) | 3 mm (cut and engrave) | Works with 13 tools; bundle has Fine Point, Scoring and Engraving tools | Design Space (free app) | - | Amazon |
Cricut Maker 4: 300+ materials including leather and wood | Not stated | Not stated | Fine-Point Blade and Fine Point Pen included | Design Space (free app) | - | Amazon |
Cricut Maker 3: 10X cutting force, matless up to 12 ft | Not stated | Not stated | Compatible with 13+ tools | Design Space (iOS, Android, Windows, Mac) | - | Amazon |
Cricut Joy Xtra: compact cutter with Print Then Cut | Not stated | Not stated | Cuts, draws and foils; 5-piece tool set in kit | Design Space (free app) | - | Amazon |
Cricut Joy 2: smallest Cricut, now with Print Then Cut | Not stated | Not stated | Cuts, writes, draws, foils and scores | Design Space (free app) | - | Amazon |
Cricut Explore 3: matless Smart Materials up to 12 ft | Not stated | Not stated | Premium Fine-Point Blade included | Design Space (iOS, Android, Windows, Mac) | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
The picks in detail

Pick 1 · Cricut
Cricut Explore 5: 12 in cutting for vinyl and cards
See price on AmazonThe newest Explore cuts 100+ materials at 12 inches wide, writes, draws, foils and scores. The Essential Bundle adds Smart Vinyl, Smart Iron-On, cardstock and insert cards. Best value for vinyl, shirts and cards.
What the listing offers
- Lowest price of the full-size Cricuts here while keeping the 12 in (30.5 cm) cutting width.
- Print Then Cut works with a home inkjet printer for full-color stickers and decals, according to the listing.
- Bluetooth connection to Design Space on mobile or desktop, with guided design flows and templates.
Limits to know
- Works with six tools, not the Maker's larger set, so no engraving or debossing for leather and wood.
- The listing gives no maximum material thickness, so check before planning chipboard or thick craft foam.

Pick 2 · Cricut
Cricut Maker 5: 3 mm materials and 13 tools
See price on AmazonThe newest Maker. The listing states it cuts 300+ materials, including leather and foam core up to 3 mm, engraves metal and acrylic, and works with 13 tools. The pick for crafters who want one machine for everything.
What the listing offers
- Listing states 3 mm cutting for thicker materials like leather and foam core board, plus engraving on metal and acrylic.
- Works with 13 tools to cut, engrave, write, foil, score and deboss, and has a new snap-in pen holder.
- Essential Bundle includes the Scoring Tool, Engraving Tool and materials the listing says cover up to 65 projects.
Limits to know
- Specialty tools beyond those in the bundle are sold separately, so the full 13-tool range costs extra.
- The listing does not state how it connects to your phone or computer; check the product page before buying.

Pick 3 · Cricut
Cricut Maker 4: 300+ materials including leather and wood
See price on AmazonThe previous Maker, which the listing says works with 300+ materials including leather and wood, and cuts, draws, foils, scores, engraves, debosses and perforates. A good buy if it sells below the Maker 5.
What the listing offers
- Listing names leather, wood, vinyl, iron-on and cardstock among 300+ supported materials.
- Bundle includes a materials sampler with matless vinyl and matless heat transfer vinyl to try right away.
- Print Then Cut works with most inkjet printers for full-color stickers, per the listing.
Limits to know
- Only the Fine-Point Blade comes in the box, so engraving and debossing tools must be bought separately.
- Cut width, thickness limit and connection type are not stated in this listing.

Pick 4 · Cricut
Cricut Maker 3: 10X cutting force, matless up to 12 ft
See price on AmazonThe older Maker, listed with 10X cutting force, 300+ materials and 13+ tools. Smart Materials let it cut a single image up to 12 ft or repeated cuts up to 75 ft without a mat. Worth it only at a clear discount.
What the listing offers
- Title lists 10X cutting force and leather among the 300+ materials it cuts.
- Matless Smart Materials allow one image up to 12 ft long, or repeated cuts up to 75 ft, per the listing.
- Compatible with 13+ tools to cut, score, write, deboss and engrave.
Limits to know
- An older generation priced near the Maker 5 bundle here, so value depends on finding a lower price.
- The listing does not state cut width, thickness limit or how it connects.

Pick 5 · Cricut
Cricut Joy Xtra: compact cutter with Print Then Cut
See price on AmazonA compact Cricut that works with 50+ materials, including vinyl, iron-on and cardstock, and supports Print Then Cut stickers. The Vinyl Starter Kit adds a mat, Smart Vinyl samples and transfer tape. For decals and labels.
What the listing offers
- Print Then Cut with most inkjet printers, which the original small Joy machines did not cover.
- Kit includes a StandardGrip mat, Smart Vinyl sampler, a 9.5 in x 20 ft transfer tape roll and a 5-piece tool set.
- Small machine suited to a desk for decals, labels and simple iron-on projects.
Limits to know
- Works with 50+ materials versus 300+ on the Makers, and the listing does not mention scoring.
- Cut width is not stated, so check that your largest shirt or decal design fits before you buy.

Pick 6 · Cricut
Cricut Joy 2: smallest Cricut, now with Print Then Cut
See price on AmazonThe next generation of Cricut's ultra-compact cutter. The listing says it works with 75+ materials, scores and foils, and now does full-color stickers with a home inkjet printer. Good for cards, labels and quick decals.
What the listing offers
- Works with 75+ materials, more than the Joy Xtra's stated 50+, and adds scoring for cards.
- Rainbow Essentials bundle includes Smart Vinyl, Smart Iron-On, cardstock, insert cards and printable vinyl.
- Bluetooth connection to Design Space on a phone or computer, according to the listing.
Limits to know
- Built for quick everyday projects, so it is not the machine for large shirt backs or thick materials.
- The listing does not state the cut width or thickness limit.

Pick 7 · Cricut
Cricut Explore 3: matless Smart Materials up to 12 ft
See price on AmazonThe prior Explore, listed as 2X faster and able to cut 100+ materials, including Smart Materials up to 12 ft without a mat. Fine for vinyl and iron-on, but the Explore 5 now costs less here.
What the listing offers
- Cuts Smart Vinyl, Smart Iron-On and Smart Paper Sticker Cardstock without a mat, up to 12 ft long.
- Premium Fine-Point Blade handles cardstock, vinyl, iron-on, glitter paper, cork and bonded fabric, per the listing.
- Bluetooth connection with Design Space on iOS, Android, Windows and Mac.
Limits to know
- Priced above the newer Explore 5 Essential Bundle in this comparison, which makes it hard to recommend.
- No cut width, thickness limit or tool count is stated beyond the included blade.
Read before you buy
- Which Cricut mat to use for each materialWhich Cricut mat to use for vinyl, iron-on, paper, cardstock, chipboard and fabric, what each grip color means and which mat sizes fit each machine.
- Which Cricut machine do I have?Identify your Cricut by its buttons, dial, tool clamps, color and label. Covers every Explore, Maker and Joy model plus older cartridge machines.
- Vinyl types for cutting machinesPermanent, removable, heat transfer, Smart and printable vinyl explained: what each is for, how it is cut, and which machines can cut each one without a mat.
- Silhouette Cameo vs Cricut Maker and ExploreSilhouette Cameo vs Cricut Maker and Explore compared on software, cut width, matless roll cutting and blades, the four things that actually split the brands.
- Silhouette Cameo not connecting or showing offlineFix a Silhouette Cameo that shows offline or has a greyed-out Send button: power, USB cable, Bluetooth, Studio updates, firmware and drivers in order.
More gear: Choosing a machine
Blade & Mat chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.