Gear guide
Best cutting machines for beginners: Cricut, Silhouette and Brother
Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick
Top picks at a glance
Compare all picks
Closest match for the job
Cricut Explore 5 Essential Bundle: 12 in cuts, Bluetooth
Lowest price of the full-size Cricuts here while keeping the 12 in (30.5 cm) cutting width.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most for the money on paper
Silhouette Cameo 5 Alpha: 3mm materials, 4-point registration
Materials up to 3 mm thick, including fabric and heat transfer, according to the listing.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most complete listing
Cricut Maker 4 Starter Kit: top Cricut with beginner supplies
The kit includes the Maker 4, cutting mat, blade, tools, vinyl and iron-on sampler sheets, per the listing.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
A first cutting machine should get you from unboxing to a finished decal or card without a steep learning curve. The hardware matters less than people expect. What separates a good beginner pick is the software you will live in, how the machine connects, and whether the box has enough mats and material to finish a first project. Cricut machines run on Design Space, which the listings describe as free, though Cricut also sells an optional paid Cricut Access library, so check the current terms before you count on it. Silhouette machines use Silhouette Studio, and Brother ScanNCut models can work standalone from a touch screen. This guide compares seven machines priced from about $170 on cut width, material thickness, tools, software and connectivity, using only what each Amazon listing states. Specs the listing leaves out are marked Not stated.
Compare the picks
Cricut Explore 5 Essential Bundle: 12 in cuts, Bluetooth- Max cut width
- 12 in
- Max material thickness
- Not stated
- Blades/tools
- Works with six tools, Deep Cutting Tool sold separately
- Software
- Cricut Design Space (free app)
Silhouette Cameo 5 Alpha: 3mm materials, 4-point registration- Max cut width
- Not stated
- Max material thickness
- 3 mm
- Blades/tools
- AutoBlade; cuts, sketches and embosses
- Software
- Silhouette Studio
Cricut Maker 4 Starter Kit: top Cricut with beginner supplies- Max cut width
- Not stated
- Max material thickness
- Not stated
- Blades/tools
- Blade and tools included
- Software
- Cricut Design Space
Cricut Joy 2 Essential Bundle: smallest Cricut with print then cut- Max cut width
- Not stated
- Max material thickness
- Not stated
- Blades/tools
- Writes, draws, foils, scores and cuts
- Software
- Cricut Design Space (free app)
Silhouette Portrait 4: 9 in cutter, 50 dB quiet- Max cut width
- 9 in
- Max material thickness
- Not stated
- Blades/tools
- Electric tool options plus cutting and sketching
- Software
- Silhouette Studio
Cricut Joy Xtra Ultimate Starter Bundle: compact, matless vinyl- Max cut width
- Not stated (8.5 x 12 in mat included)
- Max material thickness
- Not stated
- Blades/tools
- Cuts, writes, draws and foils
- Software
- Cricut Design Space (free app)
Brother ScanNCut2 CM350: built-in scanner, no laptop needed- Max cut width
- Not stated (12 x 12 in mat included)
- Max material thickness
- Not stated
- Blades/tools
- Not stated
- Software
- On-screen editing; 631 built-in designs
| Pick | Max cut width | Max material thickness | Blades/tools | Software | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Cricut Explore 5 Essential Bundle: 12 in cuts, Bluetooth | 12 in | Not stated | Works with six tools, Deep Cutting Tool sold separately | Cricut Design Space (free app) | - | Amazon |
Silhouette Cameo 5 Alpha: 3mm materials, 4-point registration | Not stated | 3 mm | AutoBlade; cuts, sketches and embosses | Silhouette Studio | - | Amazon |
Cricut Maker 4 Starter Kit: top Cricut with beginner supplies | Not stated | Not stated | Blade and tools included | Cricut Design Space | - | Amazon |
Cricut Joy 2 Essential Bundle: smallest Cricut with print then cut | Not stated | Not stated | Writes, draws, foils, scores and cuts | Cricut Design Space (free app) | - | Amazon |
Silhouette Portrait 4: 9 in cutter, 50 dB quiet | 9 in | Not stated | Electric tool options plus cutting and sketching | Silhouette Studio | - | Amazon |
Cricut Joy Xtra Ultimate Starter Bundle: compact, matless vinyl | Not stated (8.5 x 12 in mat included) | Not stated | Cuts, writes, draws and foils | Cricut Design Space (free app) | - | Amazon |
Brother ScanNCut2 CM350: built-in scanner, no laptop needed | Not stated (12 x 12 in mat included) | Not stated | Not stated | On-screen editing; 631 built-in designs | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
The picks in detail

Pick 1 · Cricut
Cricut Explore 5 Essential Bundle: 12 in cuts, Bluetooth
See price on AmazonThe newest Explore cuts 100+ materials at 12 inches wide, writes, draws, foils and scores. The Essential Bundle adds Smart Vinyl, Smart Iron-On, cardstock and insert cards. Best value for vinyl, shirts and cards.
What the listing offers
- Lowest price of the full-size Cricuts here while keeping the 12 in (30.5 cm) cutting width.
- Print Then Cut works with a home inkjet printer for full-color stickers and decals, according to the listing.
- Bluetooth connection to Design Space on mobile or desktop, with guided design flows and templates.
Limits to know
- Works with six tools, not the Maker's larger set, so no engraving or debossing for leather and wood.
- The listing gives no maximum material thickness, so check before planning chipboard or thick craft foam.

Pick 2 · Silhouette America
Silhouette Cameo 5 Alpha: 3mm materials, 4-point registration
See price on AmazonSilhouette's main 12 inch class machine handles vinyl to fabric up to 3 mm thick, with 4-point print and cut registration and speeds up to 400 mm/s. The cheapest way here to leave Design Space behind.
What the listing offers
- Materials up to 3 mm thick, including fabric and heat transfer, according to the listing.
- 4-point registration with vertical and horizontal correction for accurate print and cut stickers.
- Runs on Silhouette Studio software instead of Cricut Design Space.
Limits to know
- The listing does not state cut width or connection type.
- No engraving or debossing tool is mentioned, which the Maker line offers.

Pick 3 · Cricut
Cricut Maker 4 Starter Kit: top Cricut with beginner supplies
See price on AmazonCricut's Maker 4 packed with adhesive vinyl, iron-on HTV, a mat, a blade and tools. Costs more than the others but fits a beginner who already plans shirts and stickers.
What the listing offers
- The kit includes the Maker 4, cutting mat, blade, tools, vinyl and iron-on sampler sheets, per the listing.
- Adhesive vinyl and heat transfer vinyl are both included, so decals and shirts can be tried in one kit.
- Listing highlights beginner setup with Design Space and instructional guides.
Limits to know
- At this price the listing still does not state cut width, thickness or connectivity details.
- Costs well over twice the Explore 5 Essential Bundle, and the materials are samplers rather than full rolls.

Pick 4 · Cricut
Cricut Joy 2 Essential Bundle: smallest Cricut with print then cut
See price on AmazonThe next generation of Cricut's ultra-compact cutter. The listing says it works with 75+ materials, scores and foils, and now does full-color stickers with a home inkjet printer. Good for cards, labels and quick decals.
What the listing offers
- Works with 75+ materials, more than the Joy Xtra's stated 50+, and adds scoring for cards.
- Rainbow Essentials bundle includes Smart Vinyl, Smart Iron-On, cardstock, insert cards and printable vinyl.
- Bluetooth connection to Design Space on a phone or computer, according to the listing.
Limits to know
- Built for quick everyday projects, so it is not the machine for large shirt backs or thick materials.
- The listing does not state the cut width or thickness limit.

Pick 5 · Silhouette America
Silhouette Portrait 4: 9 in cutter, 50 dB quiet
See price on AmazonA redesigned 9 in Silhouette with a belt-driven chassis, IPT cut ordering and a listed 1 year limited warranty. A small, quiet start for stickers and labels.
What the listing offers
- The listing states a 9 in cutting width, enough for labels, stickers and small decals.
- IPT technology optimizes cut order so sharp corners and layered cuts do not tear, per the listing.
- A 1 year limited warranty is stated in the listing.
Limits to know
- A 9 in width rules out large shirt backs and wide signs.
- Maximum material thickness and connectivity are not stated in the listing.

Pick 6 · Cricut
Cricut Joy Xtra Ultimate Starter Bundle: compact, matless vinyl
See price on AmazonJoy Xtra with a LightGrip mat, card mat, two Smart Vinyl sampler packs and transfer tape. A compact starter for labels, cards and small decals.
What the listing offers
- The listing itemizes the contents: LightGrip mat, card mat, 2 Smart Vinyl sampler packs, transfer tape and insert cards.
- Smart Vinyl loads with no machine mat needed, according to the listing.
- Includes a card mat, a tool many Joy Xtra owners buy separately.
Limits to know
- Costs more than the Explore 5 Deluxe Bundle for a smaller machine.
- No heat press, and the mat is only 8.5 x 12 in.

Pick 7 · Brother
Brother ScanNCut2 CM350: built-in scanner, no laptop needed
See price on AmazonThe older ScanNCut2 with a 300 DPI scanner, 4.85 in touch screen and 631 designs. The cheapest scanner-equipped cutter here, with fewer listed specs.
What the listing offers
- The 300 DPI built-in scanner turns scanned images into cut designs, per the listing.
- Works as a standalone device with on-screen editing, or connected to a PC.
- Includes a 12 x 12 in cutting mat and supports upgrading to a larger mat.
Limits to know
- Wireless needs a ScanNCut Online activation card that is not included, according to the listing.
- The listing does not state a cut thickness or an auto blade, unlike the DX models.
Read before you buy
- Which Silhouette Cameo do I have?Identify your Silhouette Cameo by its label, screen, tool carriages and roll feeder, and see which features and blades each Cameo generation supports.
- Which Cricut machine do I have?Identify your Cricut by its buttons, dial, tool clamps, color and label. Covers every Explore, Maker and Joy model plus older cartridge machines.
- Silhouette Studio editions explainedSilhouette Studio Basic, Designer, Designer Plus and Business compared: prices as of October 2026, SVG import, saving SVG, and which upgrade a seller needs.
- Silhouette Cameo vs PortraitSilhouette Cameo vs Portrait compared on cut width, tool options, matless cutting and price, and the projects where the smaller Portrait 4 is enough.
- Silhouette Cameo vs Cricut Maker and ExploreSilhouette Cameo vs Cricut Maker and Explore compared on software, cut width, matless roll cutting and blades, the four things that actually split the brands.
More gear: Choosing a machine
Blade & Mat chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.