Gear guide
Best auto-open heat presses, from Cricut AutoPress to 16x24 shop models
Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick
Top picks at a glance
Compare all picks
Closest match for the job
Cricut AutoPress 2 15x15: 220 lbs, 410°F, Bluetooth
The listing states adjustable pressure up to 220 lbs and edge-to-edge heat up to 410°F.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most for the money on paper
VEVOR Auto Heat Press 15x15: 231 lbs, 0-999 s timer
The listing gives full ranges: 32-410°F temperature and 0-999 s timer.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
Most complete listing
PERFERATE 16x20 semi-auto: auto-open, slide-out
The listing states 0-999 s timer, 32-392°F temperature and a 0-999 cycle counter.
See price on AmazonSee it on Amazon
An auto heat press opens on its own when the timer ends, so a transfer cannot be scorched because you were trimming the next shirt. That is the whole point, and it changes how fast you can work in batches. The presses in this guide differ in plate size (15x15 for most home use, 16x20 or 16x24 for full prints and hoodies), how much pressure they can apply and how well the listing documents the temperature and timer range. Some listings give exact numbers, others give almost none, and for a press you will run all day that gap matters. This guide compares eight auto and semi-auto presses on plate size, maximum temperature, timer, pressure and release method, using only what each Amazon listing states. Values a listing leaves out are marked Not stated, and you should confirm them with the seller before buying.
Compare the picks
Cricut AutoPress 2 15x15: 220 lbs, 410°F, Bluetooth- Plate size
- 15 x 15 in
- Max temp
- 410°F
- Timer
- Customizable (range not stated)
- Pressure
- Adjustable up to 220 lbs
VEVOR Auto Heat Press 15x15: 231 lbs, 0-999 s timer- Plate size
- 15 x 15 in
- Max temp
- 410°F
- Timer
- 0-999 s
- Pressure
- Up to 231 lbs, 3 levels
PERFERATE 16x20 semi-auto: auto-open, slide-out- Plate size
- 16 x 20 in
- Max temp
- 392°F
- Timer
- 0-999 s
- Pressure
- Adjustable via knob
HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 15x15: auto release, drawer base- Plate size
- 15 x 15 in
- Max temp
- 410°F
- Timer
- Not stated
- Pressure
- Not stated
WUMSTOT 16x24 Auto Open: 2000W, slide-out base- Plate size
- 16 x 24 in
- Max temp
- 400°F
- Timer
- 1-999 s
- Pressure
- Customizable (max not stated)
HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 2 15x15: adjustable pressure- Plate size
- 15 x 15 in
- Max temp
- Not stated
- Timer
- Not stated
- Pressure
- Adjustable (max not stated)
Ricoma Auto Open 16x20: drawer platen, 5 in touchscreen- Plate size
- 16 x 20 in
- Max temp
- Not stated
- Timer
- Built-in (range not stated)
- Pressure
- Adjustable (range not stated)
Hotronix Auto Clam 16x16: pro auto clamshell- Plate size
- 16 x 16 in
- Max temp
- Not stated
- Timer
- Not stated
- Pressure
- Not stated
| Pick | Plate size | Max temp | Timer | Pressure | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Cricut AutoPress 2 15x15: 220 lbs, 410°F, Bluetooth | 15 x 15 in | 410°F | Customizable (range not stated) | Adjustable up to 220 lbs | - | Amazon |
VEVOR Auto Heat Press 15x15: 231 lbs, 0-999 s timer | 15 x 15 in | 410°F | 0-999 s | Up to 231 lbs, 3 levels | - | Amazon |
PERFERATE 16x20 semi-auto: auto-open, slide-out | 16 x 20 in | 392°F | 0-999 s | Adjustable via knob | - | Amazon |
HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 15x15: auto release, drawer base | 15 x 15 in | 410°F | Not stated | Not stated | - | Amazon |
WUMSTOT 16x24 Auto Open: 2000W, slide-out base | 16 x 24 in | 400°F | 1-999 s | Customizable (max not stated) | - | Amazon |
HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 2 15x15: adjustable pressure | 15 x 15 in | Not stated | Not stated | Adjustable (max not stated) | - | Amazon |
Ricoma Auto Open 16x20: drawer platen, 5 in touchscreen | 16 x 20 in | Not stated | Built-in (range not stated) | Adjustable (range not stated) | - | Amazon |
Hotronix Auto Clam 16x16: pro auto clamshell | 16 x 16 in | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
The picks in detail

Pick 1 · Cricut
Cricut AutoPress 2 15x15: 220 lbs, 410°F, Bluetooth
See price on AmazonCricut's smart auto press with a 15 x 15 in plate, up to 220 lbs of pressure and Bluetooth presets. The best documented home auto press in this guide.
What the listing offers
- The listing states adjustable pressure up to 220 lbs and edge-to-edge heat up to 410°F.
- Auto-adjusts to press thicker materials up to 1.8 in, per the listing.
- 4 built-in presets and Bluetooth for sending settings from a phone.
Limits to know
- Timer range is not stated, only that timing is customizable.
- Some features like the Heat Guide are marked with an asterisk in the listing, so check what needs the app.

Pick 2 · VEVOR
VEVOR Auto Heat Press 15x15: 231 lbs, 0-999 s timer
See price on AmazonA 15 x 15 in auto press that sets pressure itself, counts down and releases, with full temp and timer ranges listed. Strong value for home shirt makers.
What the listing offers
- The listing gives full ranges: 32-410°F temperature and 0-999 s timer.
- Up to 231 lbs of pressure with 3 levels and 2.17 in clearance for thicker items.
- Auto shutoff after 15 minutes idle, plus two preset and two custom slots.
Limits to know
- Pressure has only 3 levels rather than fine adjustment.
- The listing includes no app or Bluetooth control, unlike the Cricut model.

Pick 3 · PERFERATE
PERFERATE 16x20 semi-auto: auto-open, slide-out
See price on AmazonA 16 x 20 in semi-auto press with auto-open, a slide-out base and a cycle counter. The lowest cost large-plate auto option here.
What the listing offers
- The listing states 0-999 s timer, 32-392°F temperature and a 0-999 cycle counter.
- Auto-open raises the heating plate with a light press on the panel, per the listing.
- Triple-buffered slides and a gas spring anti-rebound design are listed.
Limits to know
- Max temperature of 392°F is lower than the 410°F listed on the 15 x 15 in models.
- Pressure has no stated maximum, only a knob adjustment.

Pick 4 · HTVRONT
HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 15x15: auto release, drawer base
See price on AmazonThe original HTVRONT auto press with a slide-in ironing board separate from the heat plate. A lower cost auto press for shirts, totes and coasters.
What the listing offers
- Reaches 320°F within 4 minutes and heats to 410°F, according to the listing.
- The ironing board is separate from the heat plate, keeping hands away during pressing.
- Handles items up to 1 in thick, such as wood signs and ceramic coasters.
Limits to know
- Pressure and timer range are not stated in the listing.
- Lower item height (1 in) than the HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 2.

Pick 5 · WUMSTOT
WUMSTOT 16x24 Auto Open: 2000W, slide-out base
See price on AmazonA 16 x 24 in auto-open press with a magnetic-lock slide-out base and 2000W heating. Suits hoodies and large prints in a small shop.
What the listing offers
- Automatically lifts the heating plate after countdown, per the listing.
- Large 16 x 24 in plate accepts items up to 2.36 in thick.
- Teflon-coated plate replaces separate Teflon sheets, according to the listing.
Limits to know
- Pressure range is not stated beyond customizable.
- A 16 x 24 in press needs a sturdy bench and a dedicated circuit for 2000W.

Pick 6 · HTVRONT
HTVRONT Auto Heat Press 2 15x15: adjustable pressure
See price on AmazonHTVRONT's second auto press adds pressure adjustment and 1.77 in height for thicker items. Fits crafters who press a mix of shirts and blanks.
What the listing offers
- Pressure is adjustable to suit different projects, per the listing.
- Pressing height up to 1.77 in (4.5 cm) for thicker items.
- Screen tilts through 7 angle levels from 0 to 75 degrees.
Limits to know
- Max temperature and timer range are not stated in this listing.
- Costs more than the first HTVRONT auto press without listing more exact specs.

Pick 7 · Ricoma
Ricoma Auto Open 16x20: drawer platen, 5 in touchscreen
See price on AmazonA 16 x 20 in auto-open press with a drawer-style lower platen and 5 in touchscreen. Aimed at small apparel businesses pressing all day.
What the listing offers
- Opens automatically once the set time is reached, per the listing.
- Drawer-style lower platen pulls out for loading without reaching under the heat.
- 5 in digital touchscreen for timer and temperature settings.
Limits to know
- Max temperature, timer range and pressure range are not stated.
- Costs several times more than the PERFERATE and WUMSTOT large-plate presses.

Pick 8 · Stahls'
Hotronix Auto Clam 16x16: pro auto clamshell
See price on AmazonStahls' Hotronix auto clamshell with a 16 x 16 in plate, pitched for continuous professional use. The listing gives very few numbers.
What the listing offers
- The listing describes it as designed to withstand the demands of continuous use.
- A 16 x 16 in plate is larger than the 15 x 15 in home presses.
- Stahls' Hotronix brand is aimed at professional transfer work.
Limits to know
- Temperature, timer and pressure are all not stated in the listing.
- The highest price in this guide with the least documented specs; ask the seller for the spec sheet.
Read before you buy
- HTV vs sublimation vs Infusible InkHTV vs sublimation vs Cricut Infusible Ink: how each bonds, which blanks it needs, how it feels and washes, and which press works for each method.
- How to apply iron-on vinyl to a shirtCut, weed and press iron-on vinyl on a shirt: mirroring, pre-pressing, time, temperature and peel for Cricut Everyday Iron-On and Siser EasyWeed, plus lifting fixes.
- EasyPress vs clamshell heat pressCricut EasyPress vs a clamshell heat press compared on pressure, even heat, speed and storage, for T-shirts, tote bags, pillows and small shop orders.
- Do you need a heat press for Cricut projects?Do you need a heat press for Cricut iron-on? When a household iron works, when it fails, and which press type and size to start with for shirts and bags.
- Heat press temperature and time guide for iron-onHeat press and EasyPress temperature, time, pressure and peel for Cricut Everyday Iron-On, Infusible Ink, Siser EasyWeed and Glitter, from the makers' guides.
More gear: Heat presses and transfers
Blade & Mat chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.