# Silhouette Cameo vs Portrait

Source: https://bladeandmat.com/blog/silhouette-cameo-vs-portrait
Published: 2026-10-09
Publisher: Blade & Mat

**Short answer:** The Silhouette Portrait 4 is a 9-inch cutter for small decals, labels, cards and stickers. The Cameo cuts wider, 12 inches on the standard models and 15 inches on the Cameo 5 Alpha Plus, so it handles adult shirt designs, signs and full sheets. Buy the Portrait if your projects are small and space is tight; buy a Cameo if you ever plan to cut anything wider than 9 inches.

Silhouette sells two desktop families that run the same Silhouette Studio software: the compact Portrait and the larger Cameo. Both cut vinyl, iron-on, cardstock and print then cut stickers. The differences are cut width, the tool options each one supports, how long a job can run and the price. This page compares the Portrait 4 with the Cameo 5 Alpha and Cameo 5 Alpha Plus using listing facts, then shows which projects need the bigger machine. If you are not sure which model you already own, see [which Silhouette Cameo do I have](https://bladeandmat.com/blog/which-silhouette-cameo-do-i-have).

## Width is the main difference

The Portrait 4 listing describes it as a 9-inch cutting machine. That is fine for labels, small decals, card fronts and sticker sheets cut from letter-size paper, but it rules out a 12x12 sheet of cardstock or vinyl, which is the most common craft size.

The Cameo takes standard 12-inch materials, and the Cameo 5 Alpha Plus listing gives a cutting width up to 15 inches. That extra width helps with adult shirt back designs, wide signs and laying several decals side by side on one pass. Our [shirt decal size chart](https://bladeandmat.com/blog/shirt-decal-size-chart) shows typical sizes, and many adult back designs run wider than 9 inches.

## Spec table from the listings

These rows use only facts stated in the current listings. Silhouette's own spec pages list exact cut lengths and tool support for each model if you need more detail.

|  | Portrait 4 (B0CHY9CY3Y) | Cameo 5 Alpha (B0FQFYVF8B) | Cameo 5 Alpha Plus (B0G6787NQW) |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Cut width | 9 inch | Not stated in listing | Up to 15 inches |
| Speed | Not stated in listing | Up to 400 mm/s | Up to 400 mm/s |
| Materials | Not stated in listing | Wide variety up to 3 mm thick | Electrostatic mat supports up to 0.5 mm |
| Registration | PixScan | 4-point registration | 4-point registration |
| Notable features | IPT, SNA belt-driven chassis, electric tool options, ES mat compatible, 50 dB | IPT, Fast Sketch Mode, AutoBlade, quiet motor | AutoBlade, Power Slide Lid, one-touch job repeat |
| Listed price | $199.99 | $299.00 | $399.99 |

Portrait 4, Cameo 5 Alpha and Cameo 5 Alpha Plus as listed

## Tools and what they add

Both families use the AutoBlade, which sets its own depth from Silhouette Studio. Lower settings suit thin vinyl and higher settings suit cardstock. The Portrait 4 listing mentions new electric tool options for more than cutting and sketching, and IPT, which orders the cut path to reduce tearing on corners and layered cuts.

The Cameo line uses a dual carriage, so a pen and blade, or two blades, can sit in the machine at once. On a Cameo 4 or later, the Kraft blade is available for thicker items like chipboard and thin craft foam. If you expect to cut thicker materials, check Silhouette's tool compatibility list for the exact model before you buy a tool.

[Compare Silhouette models](https://bladeandmat.com/best/best-silhouette-cameo)

## Projects that fit each machine

If you sell decals or make shirts, the Cameo is the safer choice because width is the one thing you cannot add later. For sticker sheets and small paper crafts, the Portrait covers the work at a lower price. See [best cutting machines for stickers](https://bladeandmat.com/best/best-cutting-machine-for-stickers) for both brands.

| Project | Portrait 4 | Cameo |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Labels and planner stickers | Yes | Yes |
| Print then cut on letter paper | Yes | Yes |
| Kids shirt decals | Yes | Yes |
| Adult shirt back designs | Often too wide | Yes |
| 12x12 cardstock layouts | No | Yes |
| Wide signs and banners | No | Yes, Plus models cut wider |
| Thicker craft materials | Limited | Yes with the Kraft blade on Cameo 4 and later |

Project fit

## Software and settings are shared

Both machines run Silhouette Studio. The free Basic edition handles cutting, text and print then cut; paid editions add SVG import and more design tools as a one-time purchase. Everything you learn on a Portrait carries over to a Cameo. See [Silhouette Studio editions explained](https://bladeandmat.com/blog/silhouette-studio-editions-explained).

Cut settings work the same way: choose the material in Studio, let the AutoBlade set depth, and adjust force in small steps. Start from our [cut settings finder](https://bladeandmat.com/tools/cut-settings-finder) or [Silhouette Cameo cut settings](https://bladeandmat.com/blog/silhouette-cameo-cut-settings), and always run a small test cut. If a machine stops cutting cleanly, [Silhouette Cameo not cutting](https://bladeandmat.com/blog/silhouette-cameo-not-cutting) walks through the checks.

## How to decide

1. Measure the widest thing you plan to cut. Over 9 inches means a Cameo.
2. If you mostly make stickers, labels and cards on letter paper, the Portrait 4 is enough.
3. If you want one machine for shirts, decals and paper, get a Cameo.
4. If you cut signs or large shirt designs often, look at the Cameo 5 Alpha Plus for 15-inch width.
5. Compare bundles. A mat, blade and sample vinyl in the box save a separate order.

## Frequently asked questions

**Is the Silhouette Portrait good for beginners?** Yes, for small projects. It runs the same Silhouette Studio software as the Cameo, so skills carry over if you upgrade later.

**Can the Portrait 4 cut 12x12 cardstock?** No. Its listing describes it as a 9-inch cutter, so 12-inch sheets need trimming or a Cameo.

**Do Portrait and Cameo use the same blades?** Both use the AutoBlade. Tool support differs by model, so check Silhouette's compatibility list before buying extra tools.

**What is the difference between Cameo 5 Alpha and Alpha Plus?** The Alpha Plus listing gives a 15-inch cut width and adds a Power Slide Lid and one-touch job repeat. Both list 400 mm/s and 4-point registration.

## Gear guides for this topic

- https://bladeandmat.com/best/best-silhouette-cameo
- https://bladeandmat.com/best/best-cutting-machine-for-stickers
- https://bladeandmat.com/best/best-cutting-machine-for-beginners
