# Best Silhouette Cameo, Portrait and Curio machines

Source: https://bladeandmat.com/best/best-silhouette-cameo
Publisher: Blade & Mat. Picks are chosen from what each Amazon listing states, not from hands-on tests. Method: https://bladeandmat.com/how-we-pick

Silhouette machines all run the same Silhouette Studio desktop software, so the real choice is size and tooling. The Portrait 4 cuts 9 inch wide material on a desk. The Cameo 5 Alpha is the 12 inch all-rounder with AutoBlade and print and cut registration. The Alpha Plus stretches to 15 inches, and the Cameo Pro goes to 24 inches with a dual carriage for long vinyl runs. The Curio 2 is the odd one out: a flatbed for thick materials and embossing rather than long cuts. A bad pick here usually means buying a 24 inch machine for stickers, or a 9 inch machine for adult shirt backs. This guide compares each listing on cut width, material thickness, included tools, software and connection, and marks anything the listing does not state.

## Picks

### 1. Silhouette America Cameo 5 Alpha (α) - Smart Cutting Machine for Print & Cut - Quiet Operation with AutoBlade, Studio Software, Cutting Mat- Matte Black (Machine)

Max material thickness: 3 mm; Max cut width: Not stated; Blades/tools: AutoBlade; cuts, sketches and embosses; Software: Silhouette Studio; Connectivity: Not stated

Silhouette's main 12 inch class machine handles vinyl to fabric up to 3 mm thick, with 4-point print and cut registration and speeds up to 400 mm/s. The cheapest way here to leave Design Space behind.

What the listing offers:
- Materials up to 3 mm thick, including fabric and heat transfer, according to the listing.
- 4-point registration with vertical and horizontal correction for accurate print and cut stickers.
- Runs on Silhouette Studio software instead of Cricut Design Space.

Limits to know:
- The listing does not state cut width or connection type.
- No engraving or debossing tool is mentioned, which the Maker line offers.

### 2. Silhouette Cameo 5 Alpha Plus - 15" Craft & Vinyl Cutter Machine with Automatic Blade, Fast Sketch Mode & 4-Point Registration - Includes Studio Software & 100 Designs, 1-Month Subscription - Black

Max cut width: 15 in; Max material thickness: 0.5 mm on the electrostatic mat; Blades/tools: AutoBlade, sketch pen adapter; Software: Silhouette Studio, 100 designs, 1-month Design Store subscription; Connectivity: Not stated

A 15 in Cameo with AutoBlade depth adjustment, 400 mm/s speed and one-touch job repeat. A middle step between 12 in craft cutters and 24 in machines.

What the listing offers:
- The listing states a cutting width of up to 15 in, wider than 12 in craft machines.
- AutoBlade adjusts blade depth automatically, per the listing.
- One-touch job repeat helps when cutting the same decal several times.

Limits to know:
- The electrostatic mat is listed for materials up to 0.5 mm, and roll feeding is not stated.
- The listing includes only a 1-month Silhouette Design Store subscription; check current terms after that.

### 3. Silhouette Curio 2 Precision Vinyl Cutter Machine - White

Card mat: Electrostatic bed, no mat needed; Scoring: Not stated; Pen/writing: Heat Pen sold separately; Card supplies in box: Not stated; Max cut width: 12 x 12 in flatbed

A flatbed with 20 mm vertical clearance aimed at acrylic, leather and metal engraving, with an electrostatic bed instead of sticky mats. The Silhouette answer to the Maker's thick-material tools.

What the listing offers:
- 20 mm vertical clearance fits thick acrylic and leather that roll-fed cutters cannot take.
- Optional Engraving Tool and Heat Pen cover metal and acrylic engraving and foil.
- Automatic tool and material thickness detection, with Bluetooth for wireless cutting.

Limits to know:
- Every specialty tool is listed as sold separately, which adds to the cost.
- A 12x12 flatbed, so it does not cut long vinyl or fabric runs.

### 4. Silhouette Portrait 4-9 inch Vinyl Cutting Machine with Studio Software, PixScan, Electric Tool and ES Mat Compatible, SNA and IPT Enabled, 50 db

Max cut width: 9 in; Max material thickness: Not stated; Blades/tools: Electric tool options plus cutting and sketching; Software: Silhouette Studio; Connectivity: Not stated

A redesigned 9 in Silhouette with a belt-driven chassis, IPT cut ordering and a listed 1 year limited warranty. A small, quiet start for stickers and labels.

What the listing offers:
- The listing states a 9 in cutting width, enough for labels, stickers and small decals.
- IPT technology optimizes cut order so sharp corners and layered cuts do not tear, per the listing.
- A 1 year limited warranty is stated in the listing.

Limits to know:
- A 9 in width rules out large shirt backs and wide signs.
- Maximum material thickness and connectivity are not stated in the listing.

### 5. Silhouette Cameo PRO

Max cut width: 24 in; Max material thickness: Not stated; Blades/tools: AutoBlade 2, pen adapter, roll feeder, dual carriage; Software: Not stated; Connectivity: Not stated

A 24 inch Cameo with a dual-powered carriage and auxiliary rollers for cuts up to 60 feet. An alternative for Maker owners whose real limit is width, not thickness.

What the listing offers:
- 24 inch cut width with a 24 x 24 in mat and roll feeder in the box.
- Dual carriage cuts and sketches in one pass, saving a tool swap on multi-step projects.
- Auxiliary rollers keep long cuts up to 60 feet stable, according to the listing.

Limits to know:
- No thickness spec is given, so it is not a match for the Maker on wood or leather.
- Software and connection are not named in the listing bullets.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.